HIV & Housing Summit

Hosted by miscellaneous


Dates: 11/6/2019

Additional Notes

This Summit brings housing and homeless services together with HIV/AIDS service organizations and other service providers to work on ending homelessness for persons living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA). PLWHA are over-represented in the homeless population and the nature of this chronic illness requires strict adherence to a treatment regimen that is upended by homelessness. Homelessness leaves people vulnerable to contracting HIV and/or having their HIV progress, and that progression opens people up to opportunistic illnesses that can lead to an early death. Stigma impacts people’s willingness to share their HIV status and the more all providers know about the intersection of HIV and homelessness, the greater the opportunity to help people live healthier, longer lives. This year’s Summit will include workshops on system level landlord engagement, partnering across organizations, developing local leadership to address homelessness, Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) 101, fair housing, and developing inclusive agencies and programs.

Waiting for image to load...


Other Events from this Partner

Count Me In! Special Needs Storytime

Saturday, November 16, 2019 @ 4pm Saturday, September 21, 2019 @ 4pm Saturday, December 14, 2019 @ 4pm Saturday, October 19, 2019 @ 4pm 
in Canton
Price: Free

Fathers First

Monday, November 18, 2019 @ 6:30pm Monday, October 21, 2019 @ 6:30pm Monday, December 16, 2019 @ 6:30pm Monday, September 16, 2019 @ 6:30pm 
in Detroit
Price: Free

Detroit Police Workshop Wednesdays

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, May 22, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, July 24, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, September 25, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, November 20, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, August 21, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, December 18, 2019 @ 6pm Wednesday, October 23, 2019 @ 6pm 
in Detroit
Price: Free

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT FILM SERIES

Thursday, September 19, 2019 @ 6:30pm Tuesday, November 19, 2019 @ 6:30pm Wednesday, March 11, 2020 @ 6:30pm Monday, January 13, 2020 @ 6:30pm 
in Pontiac
Price: Free

CIVIC ENGAGEMENT FILM SERIES

Thursday, September 19, 2019 @ 6:30pm Tuesday, November 19, 2019 @ 6:30pm Wednesday, March 11, 2020 @ 6:30pm Monday, January 13, 2020 @ 6:30pm 
in Pontiac
Price: Free

Macomb County ACES Job Fair

Wednesday, April 01, 2020 @ 8:30am 
in Clinton Township
Price: Free